h1

Royal Rebirth: Revival King is crowned

2015/09/24

This is the final installment of a three-part series by native Louisiannan, Hiro LeFevre, reporting on the Hunanese selection of a new Constitutional Monarch.

It had been a long day of preparations for Huàng Fùxīng, Ki Fukko, 黄復興, the Revival King of Hunan. He and the Queen had spent the day being groomed and prepared for their final presentation to the Hunanese Parliament and immediately after, to the people of Hunan.

I watched as His Majesty signed away his hereditary rights in Japan. I could feel his trepidation, and yet, he knew the good that his presence in Hunan would be, more than he could ever contribute in all his efforts in Japan.

The new flag of Hunan had been revealed that morning, showing the Chinese dragon turned to face the East, and the red of the rising sun, on a field of white, a clear connection to the Yamatoan flag. The flags mixing Hunan and Mÿqan̊ Ðaij had been unceremoniously burned the night before under a heaping bonfire.

His Majesty had fretted a bit to me about the flag, saying simply that he hoped the Hunanese would know he honored them and their Chimese heritage, even with the clearly co-mingled flags.  His wife had not said a word, absorbed in the ritual preparations for the presentation of the King and Queen. Their children would be spared the public spectacle, this time.

Advisors surrounded them, refreshing their memories on the protocols of the Chinese court.  Representatives of Japan bartered with Parliamentarians for accommodations to courtly behaviors and the rights of King, Queen and their children as constitutional monarch. The King asked them to discuss this at some other time in Japanese, and repeated himself perfectly in Hunanese, reproaching both sets of politicians.

The political clutch bowed and left the room, as did the advisors, leaving His Majesty, the Queen, and myself. The Queen approached him, consoling him in accented Japanese. I made to leave, but He asked me to stay, in Francien. “You are welcome here. It’s nice to have a familiar face.”

He gestured to take a seat, and sat next to me, accompanied by His Queen. “I thought I understood pressure, managing large companies. This is truly different.”

I found myself without words. Here sat a man, a titan of business, accustomed to the Impirial Court of Japan, but now, with the titular burden of a nation, and limited powers over the executive weighing on his shoulders, he seemed genuinely daunted. Likely for the first time in his life.

His wife stroked his arm, saying, “We embark on an adventure. My grandfather would be pleased to see a piece of his homeland cared for by a man like you.”

The King Fùxīng smiled at her, and at me. An aide appeared at the door beckoning them forward, and Their Majesties rose to meet Their people. As He walked past me, He laid a hand on my arm, a twinkle in His eye. “I find myself in need of an ambassador to Louisianne. Do you know anyone?”

He chuckled, not waiting for my answer, and I watched him leave the room. I stood, silent in the awesome transformation of Hiroyuqui, Prince Comaçu into King Fùxīng of Hunan.

Hiro LeFevre has recently received a posting as the Hunanese ambassador to Louisianne, serving His Majesty King Fùxīng. His contribution to TéléLouisianne has been invaluable, and the Editors thank him for this window into the selection process.

One comment

  1. A most sublime ending to an incredible story. I wish M. LeFevre the best of luck as Hunanese Ambassador to Louisianne.
    Now, time to see what’s been going on in Russia with all this civil war business that old Sasomętany has been talking about.



Leave a Reply

